Wheat

Is wheat gluten free?

Wheat is not gluten free.
Wheat

Photo by USDAgov

If you know one thing about gluten, it’s probably that wheat has it. If you are avoiding gluten, you must avoid all forms of wheat. This includes, but is not limited to, bulgar wheat, durum wheat, fu, wheat gluten, wheat starch, kamut, spelt, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat grass, wheat nuts, and wheat flour.

Some foods which contain wheat include all-purpose flour, whole-wheat flour, breakfast cereals, cakes, cookies, couscous, crackers, farina, matza, seitan, semolina, soy sauce, tabouli, and teriyaki sauce. In most cases, you can find gluten free alternatives, but unless it is specifically labeled as gluten free, it probably isn’t!

Additional ingredients

Sometimes gluten is hidden and you will not see wheat listed on the label. Look for and avoid any product which contains these ingredients.

  • Triticum vulgare
  • Triticale
  • Triticum spelta
  • Spelt
  • Wheat protein / hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Wheat starch / hydrolyzed wheat starch
  • Wheat flour / bread flour / bleached flour
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Farina
  • Pasta
  • Seitan
  • Wheat grass
  • Wheat germ oil / wheat germ extract

In addition, any of the following ingredients possibly contain wheat gluten. Contact the manufacturer to make sure they are safe for you to eat.

  • Vegetable protein / hydrolyzed vegetable protein / HVP
  • Modified starch / modified food starch
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein / HPP
  • Seasonings
  • Flavorings
  • Vegetable starch
  • Dextrin


Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!