Taco Seasoning

Is Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?

Taco seasoning may or may not be gluten free.

Is taco seasoning gluten free? Since it is a food made up of a variety of ingredients which vary from brand to brand, there is no definitive answer. The reality is that you have to pay attention to the labels. Many brands list wheat flour as an ingredient, in which case they are not gluten free. Brands like Old El Paso, Ortega, and McCormick clearly list gluten ingredients on their labels. If a product contains gluten, it will list wheat, barley, rye, or oats on the label. They do not generally label their products as gluten free, however, because they cannot guarantee against cross-contamination.

To be absolutely sure, mixing up your own taco seasoning is easy. You can mix up just enough for a recipe, or make up a jar full if you use it a lot. Just buy pure spices, and you’re good to go. Making your own also allows you to control the sodium content and avoid MSG.

For 1-2 pounds of meat, mix together 1 tablespoon chili powder, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano, 1/2 teaspoon paprika, 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin, 1 teaspoon sea salt, and 1 teaspoon ground black pepper.

Gluten Free Taco Seasoning Products

Spicely products are certified gluten free by the GIG.

Old El Paso seasoning mixes are gluten free unless the label shows wheat, barley, rye, or oats. Always check the label, as ingredient lists change from time to time.

Ortega seasoning mixes should be gluten free unless the label shows wheat, barley, rye, or oats. I can no longer find info from the company stating that it is gluten free, so be careful with this one. Always check the label, as ingredient lists change from time to time.

McCormick seasoning mixes are gluten free unless the label shows wheat or barley. Always check the label, as ingredient lists change from time to time.

  • McCormick Original Taco Seasoning Mix
  • McCormick 30% Less Sodium Taco Seasoning Mix
  • McCormick 30% Less Sodium Mild Taco Seasoning Mix
  • McCormick Hot Taco Seasoning Mix
  • McCormick Southwest Chicken Quesadillas Seasoning Mix
  • McCormick Chicken Taco Seasoning Mix
  • McCormick Enchilada Sauce Mix
  • McCormick Fajita Seasoning Mix

Penzeys

  • Penzeys Spices Taco Seasoning
  • Penzeys Spices Bold Taco Seasoning
  • Penzeys Spices Chicken Taco Seasoning

Bearitos

Trader Joe’s seasoning mix does not contain gluten ingredients.

Simply Organic offers a variety of products that are certified gluten free.

Do you know of any other brands that are gluten free? Which one is your favorite? Or do you have your own recipe? Leave a comment below!

Save

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

4 Responses to “Taco Seasoning”

  1. R Amundson December 10, 2013 at 3:38 PM # Reply

    El Pasado fajita seasoning: is it gluten free? Can’t find this information anywhere! Thanks.

    • GFBF December 17, 2013 at 8:02 AM # Reply

      I’m sorry, I’m not familiar with this brand at all, and I can’t find any info on it either! If anyone has the answer, I hope they will post it.

  2. Chris June 9, 2016 at 6:54 AM # Reply

    Very helpful! Thanks!
    Chicken tacos here I come!

    • arthur deema July 7, 2017 at 10:49 PM # Reply

      chris, how did your tacos turn out?

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

Connect with me!