Is spelt gluten free?

Spelt is not gluten free.

Spelt, also known as dinkel or hulled wheat, is an ancient species of wheat, and as such, it contains gluten. Some people with wheat allergies can tolerate spelt, as it is not identical to modern varieties of wheat. But, people with celiac disease must avoid it. The FDA states that spelt products must have a wheat allergy warning. If you need further convincing, this document from the USDA explains that spelt is every bit as dangerous to celiacs as common wheat.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply


Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!