Is rye gluten free?

Rye is not gluten free.
Is rye gluten free?

Photo by tatteralan

Rye is one of the main grains which contain gluten. Secalin is the name of the gluten protein found in rye. You should avoid anything with rye in it. Some foods which may contain rye include bread, crackers, and crisp breads.

Unfortunately, rye is not one of the ingredients that the FDA requires that manufacturers to disclose. This means you have to be extra careful reading labels to make sure it is not hidden somewhere in the product. If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance and you are experiencing symptoms from food that seems to be gluten free, there is likely hidden gluten in it.

If a food item contains any of the following ingredients, that means that it contains rye and is therefore not gluten free.

  • Secale cereale
  • Triticale

Is rye whiskey gluten free?

Now on to the important question.

Rye whiskey is gluten free.

Rye whiskey is distilled from at least 51% rye. But since the distillation process breaks down and removes the gluten proteins, it is generally considered to be gluten free. Even so, some gluten sensitive people report having bad reactions to it. Also, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau does not allow alcohol made from gluten grains to be labeled as gluten free, even if the distilling process removes it. So try it if you want to (assuming you are of age), but be cautious.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply


Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!