Panko

Is panko gluten free?

Panko is not gluten free.
Is panko gluten free?

Photo by Sashertootie

Panko is basically just breadcrumbs (Portuguese “pão” [bread] + Japanese “-ko” [crumbs]) made from yeast-risen wheat bread baked with electric current instead of heat. Therefore, it is not gluten free. It is possible to make panko-style flaky breadcrumbs with gluten free bread, but it is definitely an exception.

Gluten free panko style breacrumbs

Kinnikinnick Foods Inc. gluten free products are made in a gluten free facility, and all their suppliers must be verified as gluten free.

Ian’s tests their gluten free products at an independent lab. They also make products with gluten, so make sure the label states gluten free.

Aleia’s exclusively makes gluten free products in their certified gluten free bakery.

Schar ensures gluten levels of under 20 ppm.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!