Is couscous gluten free?
Is couscous gluten free? Couscous is made from semolina. Semolina is a byproduct of the milling process of durum wheat. It is directly a part of the wheat plant, and therefore it contains gluten.
I first had couscous in Rabat, Morocco, served with some amazing stewed meat and vegetables. I immediately fell in love with it, and it’s one of the foods I missed the most after learning of my gluten intolerance. Fortunately, there are gluten free options to replace couscous. Quinoa is a decent substitute, as is brown rice. Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal, which is made from brown rice, corn, sorghum, and buckwheat, is another option if you are not concerned about the texture. And finally, you can buy brown rice couscous, which is made specifically to simulate authentic couscous. If you can afford it, it’s probably the closest to couscous in terms of taste and texture.
Gluten Free Couscous Products
Lundberg produces only gluten free products in their facilities.
- Lundberg Plain Original Couscous – 10 oz. (Pack of 6)
- Lundberg Gluten Free Brown Rice Couscous, Savory Herb – 6.8 oz.
- Lundberg Gluten Free Brown Rice Couscous, Roasted Garlic & Olive Oil – 7 oz.
Wholesome Kitchen makes their gluten free couscous with whole grain millet instead of wheat.
- Wholesome Kitchen Gluten Free Couscous and Garden Vegetable – 10 oz.
- Wholesome Kitchen Gluten Free Couscous, Fruit and Nut – 10 oz.
Goldbaum’s products are manufactured in a gluten free facility. Their couscous is made with tapioca and potato.