Brown Rice Syrup

Is brown rice syrup gluten free?

Brown rice syrup may or may not be gluten free.

Is brown rice syrup gluten free?Is brown rice syrup gluten free? There is no definitive answer for this, because it depends on the brand. Some brown rice syrup is made purely from fermented brown rice, while other brands contain barley.

Also known as rice syrup or rice malt, brown rice syrup is used as a sweetener to replace sugar. (It has a higher glycemic index than sugar, if you’re counting.) It’s made by fermenting cooked rice with enzymes, which break down the starches, and straining off the liquid. Usually, brown rice sugar is made with barley enzymes, but sometimes it’s made with fungal enzymes. In cases where it’s made with barley enzymes, it is not gluten free. If it’s made with fungal enzymes, then it is gluten free.

If you see it on a label for a product which is labeled as gluten free, then you can assume the brown rice syrup is gluten free. If you see it on a product which isn’t labeled gluten free, the label may specify that barley was used, but it’s not required. So if you see it on a product not labeled gluten free where it doesn’t specify whether barley was used, the only way to know is to contact the manufacturer.

Gluten Free Brown Rice Syrup Products

Lundberg has a fully gluten free facility, and they use fungal enzymes to produce their brown rice syrup.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply


Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!