Barley

Is barley gluten free?

Barley is not gluten free.

Barley is one of the main grains which contain gluten. Hordein is the name of the gluten protein found in barley. You should avoid anything with barley in it. Some foods which may contain barley include bread, cereals, beer, crackers, pretzels, cakes, pies, potato chips, drink mixes, soup, and brown rice syrup.

Unfortunately, barley is not one of the ingredients that the FDA requires that manufacturers to disclose. This means you have to be extra careful reading labels to make sure it is not hidden somewhere in the product. If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance and you are experiencing symptoms from food that seems to be gluten free, there is likely hidden gluten in it.

If a food item contains any of the following ingredients, that means that it contains barley and is therefore not gluten free.

  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Malt
  • Barley grass
  • Barley malt

Additional ingredients

In addition, any of the following ingredients possibly contain barley gluten. Contact the manufacturer to make sure they are safe for you to eat.

  • Modified starch / modified food starch
  • Natural flavor / natural flavoring
  • Artificial flavor / artificial flavoring
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein / HPP
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein / HVP
  • Seasonings
  • Flavorings
  • Vegetable starch


Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!