Is tapioca gluten free?
Tapioca is a starch that comes from the roots of the cassava plant, which is gluten free. Some may be familiar with it in the form of tapioca pearls, which are used in tapioca pudding or bubble tea. It’s also available in powdered form and can be labeled either tapioca starch or tapioca flour. They are the exact same thing and are often used in gluten free recipes using one name or the other. Be careful with how much tapioca you use in a recipe, because using too much can result in a slimy texture. I find personally that the slimy texture makes food inedible, but others don’t mind it as much.
Tapioca starch is often labeled as arrowroot, but they are two different things.
Gluten free tapioca products
Bob’s Red Mill uses specialized farms and they have a separate gluten free packaging division with special machinery to protect against cross-contamination. They ensure a standard of no more than 19 parts per million of gluten.
- Bob’s Red Mill Tapioca Flour – 20 oz.
- Bob’s Red Mill Tapioca Flour – 20 oz. (Pack of 4)
- Bob’s Red Mill Tapioca, Small Pearl – 24 oz. (Pack of 4)
Ener-G Foods, Inc. is a wheat free, gluten free, dairy free, peanut free, tree nut free and kosher certified facility.
Authentic Foods produces all of their products in a dedicated gluten free facility.
Edward and Sons claims this product is gluten free.