Is soy milk gluten free?
Is soy milk gluten free? Soy milk, or soy drink in some countries, is a milk substitute produced from soybeans and water. In its pure form, soy milk is gluten free. You can make it yourself, if you’re so inclined, using a soy milk maker. However, certain brands may add additional gluten-containing ingredients to their soy milk. Always check labels to be sure.
Soy milk has the same amount of protein as cow’s milk without the saturated fat and cholesterol. It doesn’t contain much digestible calcium, though, so manufacturers often add it in.
Soy milk can be used in place of milk in many recipes, though the taste and color may vary. You can even add a teaspoon of cider vinegar per cup to use it in place of buttermilk. If you’re using it for puddings or custards, you’ll need to add some cornstarch to make up for the lack of saturated fat.
And finally, despite rumors otherwise, soy has not been shown to have feminizing effects on men. So all you paragons of masculinity need not worry about the soy milk in your lattes. And those of you hoping to grow breasts will have to find another means. Sorry.
Gluten Free Soy Milk Products
All Silk products are gluten free. They have protocols to detect and prevent contamination by gluten.
- Silk Original Soymilk
- Silk Vanilla Soymilk
- Silk Chocolate Soymilk
- Silk Very Vanilla Soymilk
- Silk Plain DHA Omega-3 Soymilk
- Silk Vanilla Light Soymilk
- Silk Original Light Soymilk
- Silk Chocolate Light Soymilk
- Silk Organic Original Soymilk
- Silk Organic Vanilla Soymilk
- Silk Organic Unsweetened Soymilk
- Silk French Vanilla Creamer
- Silk Original Creamer
- Silk Hazelnut Creamer
Edensoy Unsweetened is tested gluten free and wheat free.
- Unsweetened Edensoy Organic Soymilk
Organic Valley‘s production partners are audited to ensure cross-contamination, but they cannot absolutely guarantee the absence of gluten in their products.
- Organic Valley Original Soy Milk
- Organic Valley Vanilla Soy Milk
- Organic Valley Chocolate Soy Milk
- Organic Valley Unsweetened Soy Milk
- Organic Valley French Vanilla Soy Creamer
- Organic Valley Soy Creamer
Taste the Dream lists the following products as gluten free.
- Soy Dream Enriched Original Soymilk (shelf stable)
- Soy Dream Enriched Vanilla Soymilk (shelf stable)
- Soy Dream Enriched Chocolate Soymilk (shelf stable)
- Soy Dream Classic Vanilla Soymilk (shelf stable)
- Soy Dream Classic Original Soymilk (refrigerated)
- Soy Dream Enriched Orginal Soymilk (refrigerated)
- Soy Dream Enriched Vanilla Soymilk (refrigerated)
Westsoy displays the Hain Celestial Group gluten free symbol on their gluten free products. The low fat and Soy Slender products do not have this label.
- Westsoy Organic Original Soymilk
- Westsoy Organic Unsweetened Plain Soymilk
- Westsoy Organic Unsweetened Vanilla Soymilk
- Westsoy Organic Unsweetened Almond Soymilk
- Westsoy Unsweetened Chocolate Soymilk
- Westsoy Organic Plus Plain Soymilk
- Westsoy Organic Plus Vanilla Soymilk
- Westsoy Non Fat Plain Soymilk
- Westsoy Non Fat Vanilla Soymilk
Pacific Foods lists the following as gluten free. They do not have dedicated gluten free facilities, but they clean and flush all equipment between runs. If you are very sensitive to gluten, it’s probably best to avoid their products.
- Pacific All Natural Ultra Soy Original
- Pacific All Natural Ultra Soy Vanilla
- Pacific All Natural Select Soy Original
- Pacific All Natural Select Soy Vanilla
- Pacific All Natural Organic Unsweetened Soy Original
8th Continent claims that all their soymilks are gluten free. They have a really annoying website.
- 8th Continent Soymilk Original
- 8th Continent Soymilk Vanilla
- 8th Continent Soymilk Complete Vanilla
- 8th Continent Soymilk Light Original
- 8th Continent Soymilk Light Vanilla
- 8th Continent Soymilk Light Chocolate
- 8th Continent Soymilk Fat Free Original
- 8th Continent Soymilk Fat Free Vanilla
Do you know of other soy milk brands that are gluten free? What is your favorite? Leave a comment below!