Is quinoa gluten free?

Quinoa is gluten free.
Is quinoa gluten free?

Photo by Vi..Cult…

Is quinoa gluten free? Quinoa is a pseudocereal rather than a grain, and it’s the seeds that we eat. It’s related to beets and spinach, and it does not contain gluten.

Quinoa has been domesticated for 3,000 to 4,000 years, originating in the Andean region of Ecuador. It’s considered a superfood, as it is high in protein, as well as fiber, magnesium, iron, and calcium. This makes it a good choice for vegans and others who must avoid dairy products.

As with other things, there is always a chance for cross-contamination when the producer also processes gluten grains. Also, don’t assume that all quinoa products are gluten free. Always check for other ingredients if the package is not specifically labeled as gluten free.

Gluten Free Quinoa Products

Ancient Harvest grows their quinoa at elevations that do not support gluten grains. Their gluten free products are all processed in gluten free facilities.

Bob’s Red Mill has a separate gluten free packaging division with special machinery to protect against cross-contamination. They ensure a standard of no more than 19 parts per million of gluten. Bob’s Red Mill also produces items which contain gluten, so make sure to buy only the ones which say gluten free on the label.

Arrowhead Mills actively tests and monitors their production facilities to guard against cross-contamination. They also manufacture products with gluten, so pay attention to the label and only buy those marked as gluten free.

Other Brands

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply


Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!