Millet

Is millet gluten free?

Millet is gluten free.

Is millet gluten free?Is millet gluten free? Millet is a grass that is grown around the world as a cereal crop. The most common variety is pearl millet, though you may also see finger millet, teff, proso millet, and foxtail millet. Its protein content is similar to wheat, but it does not contain gluten. Millet is alkaline, and like rice, it is easy to digest. Millet does inhibit thyroid function, however, so those with thyroid issues should be cautious.

Yes, millet is used in birdseed, so go ahead and tell people that you eat like a bird. It’s an important crop in impoverished, dry, infertile areas, but not so much in the United States and Europe, where wheat rules. However, it’s quite nutritious. It contains high levels of essential amino acids, and it’s a good source of iron, calcium, magnesium, and zinc. It’s also high in fiber.

You can cook and use millet the same way you cook and use rice. You can even cook it in a rice cooker by using 1 part millet to 2 parts water. Use it for hot cereals, pilafs or in tabbouleh. Add it to soups and salads for texture and extra nutrition. Millet flour can be used to make gluten free raised bread when combined with xanthan gum. Or it can be used alone to make flatbread.

As with any grain, there is the possibility of cross-contamination if the millet is processed in the same factory as gluten containing grains. To be sure this hasn’t happened, check for “gluten free” on the label.

Gluten Free Millet Products

Bob’s Red Mill has a separate gluten free packaging division with special machinery to protect against cross-contamination. Bob’s Red Mill also produces items which contain gluten, so make sure to buy only the ones which say gluten free on the label.

Arrowhead Mills actively tests and monitors their production facilities to guard against cross-contamination. They also manufacture products with gluten, so pay attention to the label and only buy those marked as gluten free.

Eden Foods tests their products for gluten and takes steps to prevent cross-contamination.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!