Is Mayonnaise Gluten Free?
Is mayonnaise gluten free? It depends. Most mayonnaise is made with naturally gluten free ingredients. However, they may not be labeled as gluten free, because they are not guaranteed against cross-contamination. If this is the case, be sure to check the ingredients for any gluten containing culprits. If you are especially sensitive to cross-contaminated food, be sure to verify that the label specifically says it’s gluten free. Some people worry about the vinegar in it, but as long as it isn’t malt vinegar, the vinegar does not contain gluten.
To be absolutely sure your mayonnaise is gluten free, you can make your own. All you need are eggs, mustard, lemon, oil, salt, and pepper.
Gluten Free Mayonnaise
Hellmann’s clearly lists any gluten ingredients in plain language on the ingredient label (such as wheat flour, rye, barley, oats, and malt). The following products currently specify “gluten free” on the nutrition facts.
- Hellmann’s Real Mayonnaise
- Hellmann’s Light Mayonnaise
- Hellmann’s Low Fat Mayonnaise Dressing
- Hellmann’s Mayonnaise with Olive Oil
- Limited Edition Southwestern Ranch Reduced Fat Mayonnaise
Kraft Foods products are labeled with very specific ingredient information. If a Kraft Foods product has a gluten containing ingredient, the specific grain will be listed in the ingredient statement, even when present in small amounts. The following do not contain gluten ingredients.
- Kraft Mayo Real Mayonnaise
- Kraft Light Mayo
- Kraft Fat Free Mayo
- Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil
- Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil and Cracked Pepper
- Kraft Mayo Homestyle Mayonnaise
- Kraft Sandwich Shop Mayo Chipotle
- Kraft Sandwich Shop Mayo Hot ‘N Spicy
- Kraft Sandwich Shop Mayo Garlic & Herb
- Kraft Sandwich Shop Mayo Twist of Lime
- Kraft Miracle Whip Original
- Kraft Miracle Whip Light
- Kraft Miracle Whip Fat Free
Heinz lists the following as gluten free.
- Heinz Mayonnaise
- Heinz Light Mayonnaise
- Heinz Deli Mayonnaise Moroccan
- Heinz Deli Mayonnaise Caramelised Onion
- Heinz Deli Mayonnaise Roast Garlic
- Heinz Deli Mayonnaise Sun Dried Tomato
Spectrum mayonnaise products are gluten free, confirmed by a gluten analysis.
- Spectrum Canola Mayonnaise
- Spectrum Light Canola Mayo
- Spectrum Organic Mayonnaise
- Spectrum Organic Olive Oil Mayonnaise
- Spectrum Organic Omega-3 Mayonnaise with Flax Oil
Follow Your Heart lists the following as gluten free.
- Follow Your Heart Original Vegenaise
- Follow Your Heart Reduced Fat Vegenaise
- Follow Your Heart Soy-Free Vegenaise
- Follow Your Heart Organic Vegenaise
- Follow Your Heart Grapeseed Vegenaise
- Follow Your Heart Pesto Vegenaise Gourmet
- Follow Your Heart Roasted Garlic Vegenaise Gourmet
- Follow Your Heart Chipotle Vegenaise Gourmet
Trader Joe’s lists the following as containing no gluten ingredients. This doesn’t eliminate the risk of cross-contamination, if you are sensitive to that.
Duke’s claims that their mayonnaise is gluten free. However, some products list wheat on the ingredient list. The following do not.
- Duke’s Mayonnaise
- Duke’s Light Mayonnaise
- Duke’s Light Mayonnaise with Olive Oil
- Duke’s Cholesterol-Free Mayonnaise
Do you know of any other brands that are gluten free? Which one is your favorite? Or do you have your own recipe? Leave a comment below!