Is dextrin gluten free?

Dextrin is gluten free, unless it is made from wheat starch.

Is dextrin gluten free?Dextrin–particularly white dextrin–is a carbohydrate produced by the hydrolysis of starch. It’s used as a crispness enhancer in food batters, coatings, and glazes. It can be made from corn, potato, arrowroot, wheat, rice, or tapioca starch. Dextrin is rarely made from wheat starch, but if it is, this should be indicated on the product label. If it’s made from wheat, it is not gluten free.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply


Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!