Corn

Is corn gluten free?

Corn is gluten free.*
Is corn gluten free?

Photo by Muffet

Fresh corn is always gluten free. Though the term “corn gluten” is used in the animal feed industry to describe the protein, corn does not actually contain gluten. Canned and frozen corn are also gluten free. However, if you are very sensitive, you may want to check into cross-contamination possibilities. Contact the manufacturer to see whether the corn was processed on equipment that protects it from cross-contamination.

Is cornmeal gluten free?

Cornmeal is gluten free, but may be open to cross-contamination.
Is cornmeal gluten free?

Photo by mamaloco

Cornmeal in itself is gluten free. However, it may be processed by manufacturers who also process wheat or other grains with gluten. Stick with cornmeal that is clearly labeled as gluten free. For the rest, check with the manufacturer to verify that it was protected from cross-contamination during processing.

Gluten free cornmeal products

Bob’s Red Mill uses specialized farms and they have a separate gluten free packaging division with special machinery to protect against cross-contamination. They ensure a standard of no more than 19 parts per million of gluten. Bob’s Red Mill also produces items which contain gluten, so make sure to buy only the ones which say gluten free on the label.

Arrowhead Mills actively tests and monitors their production facilities to guard against cross-contamination. They also manufacture products with gluten, so pay attention to the label and only buy those marked as gluten free.

Sam Mills tests for gluten levels using the the ELISA method, with a 3ppm precision.

Other brands:

Corn bread and other baked goods made with cornmeal

Is corn bread gluten free?

Photo by diettogo1

Baked goods made with cornmeal are likely not gluten free, as they are usually made with wheat flour. Stick to baked goods which are explicitly labeled as gluten free. Or make your own, so you know exactly what goes into them.

Gluten free corn based baked goods

*Antibodies to maize

There is some controversy over whether corn really is safe for people who are gluten intolerant.  This 1979 study showed that there was a higher incidence of antibodies to maize in celiac sufferers. If you are extremely sensitive, you may want to take this into consideration.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!