Is chocolate gluten free?

Chocolate is gluten free, but not all chocolate products are.
Is chocolate gluten free?

Photo by Fir0002

Pure chocolate, which is made from fermented cacao beans, is gluten free. Cocoa solids (or cocoa powder) and cocoa butter (or theobroma oil) are both gluten free. However, though you might bake with pure chocolate, you’re never going to want to eat it plain. As a result, most chocolate contains other ingredients, including, at the very least a sweetener. This is a case where you are going to have to check the ingredients on a case by case basis to be sure.

As always, there is also the possibility of cross-contamination if the chocolate is processed in a factory that also processed gluten containing foods. To guard against this, choose only brands which are specifically labeled gluten free.

Gluten Free Chocolate Products

Hershey maintains a list of products that have been verified as gluten free. It’s always best to check the label, though, as ingredients may change.

Stay tuned! I will be adding more products and brands as I sort through them.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply


Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!