Is arrowroot gluten free?

Arrowroot is gluten free.
Is arrowroot gluten free?

Photo by Noblevmy

Arrowroot is a starch that comes from a tropical herb, Maranta arundinacea, which is gluten free. Sometimes tapioca starch is labeled as arrowroot, but it is a totally different starch, which comes from the cassava plant. This distinction is important, because some people have a sensitivity to tapioca but not actual arrowroot.

Arrowroot is a light, white powder that can be used as a thickener, even with acidic ingredients. It produces a clear sauce, unlike cornstarch or flour, so it’s preferable for fruit sauces and glazes. It can also be used in homemade ice cream to prevent ice crystals from forming. It should not, however, be otherwise used with dairy, as it produces a slimy consistency. It’s not advised to use it alone as a substitute for gluten flours, but rather as part of a mix. Too much arrowroot can result in a chewy, elastic texture. It can be substituted wholly for cornstarch.

Arrowroot products

Bob’s Red Mill uses specialized farms and they have a separate gluten free packaging division with special machinery to protect against cross-contamination. They ensure a standard of no more than 19 parts per million of gluten.

Authentic Foods produces all of their products in a dedicated gluten free facility.

Other brands:

I believe these are actual arrowroot rather than tapioca, but if you have information one way or another, please let me know.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply


Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!