Are oats gluten free?
Pure, uncontaminated oats are gluten free. However, unless the brand specifically states that it is gluten free, you should assume that some cross-contamination has taken place. Oats are often grown in fields beside wheat and barley. If it doesn’t get contaminated that way, it’s also processed in plants alongside gluten containing grains. Therefore, you should always check the label to make sure it specifically says the oats are gluten free.
In addition, a small number people with gluten sensitivity are also sensitive to the oat protein, avenin. If you are one of those people, even certified gluten free oats will make you sick. So if you eat gluten free oats and find that you react badly to them, you probably want to avoid them altogether.
Gluten free oat products
Bob’s Red Mill gets their oats from specialized farms and they have a separate gluten free packaging division with special machinery to protect against cross-contamination. They ensure a standard of no more than 19 parts per million of gluten. Bob’s Red Mill also produces items which contain gluten, so make sure to buy only the ones which say gluten free on the label.
- Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Whole Grain, Rolled Oats
- Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Quick Cooking Oats
- Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Whole Grain, Steel Cut Oats
- Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Extra Thick Rolled Oats — 32 oz
- Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oat Bran
GF Harvest is run by a family with celiac disease. They ensure against cross-contamination from seed to packaging.
- GF Harvest Gluten Free Organic Rolled Oats, 41-Ounce Pouch
- GF Harvest Gluten Free Organic Rolled Oats, 20-Ounce Pouch (Pack of 3)
- GF Harvest Gluten Free Rolled Oats, 20-Ounce Pouch (Pack of 4)
- GF Harvest Gluten Free Old Fashioned Rolled Oats, 41-Ounce Bags (Pack of 3)
Arrowhead Mills actively tests and monitors their production facilities to guard against cross-contamination. They also manufacture products with gluten, so pay attention to the label and only buy those marked as gluten free.
Montana Gluten Free guards against cross-contamination from field to package. They work with traditional farmers using fields which are at least four years gluten free.
Is oatmeal gluten free?
As with plain oats, you should be wary of products which are not specifically labeled gluten free. In addition to the cross-contamination of the oats themselves, instant oatmeal products may also contain other ingredients which have gluten in them.
Gluten free oatmeal products
Glutenfreeda runs stringent procedures to ensure against cross-contamination from beginning to end. They and their suppliers must test at less than 5ppm and have dedicated gluten free processing. They are a 100% dedicated gluten free facility.
- Glutenfreeda’s Instant Oatmeal, Variety Pack
- Glutenfreeda’s Instant Oatmeal, Natural
- Glutenfreeda’s Instant Oatmeal, Apple Cinnamon with Flax
- Glutenfreeda’s Instant Oatmeal, Maple Raisin
- Glutenfreeda’s Instant Oatmeal, Banana Maple with Flax
- Glutenfreeda Instant Oatmeal with Flax Gluten Free Strawberries and Brown Sugar
Bakery on Main‘s products are made in a dedicated gluten free facility certified by the Gluten Free Certification Organization.
- Bakery on Main Instant Oatmeal Variety Pack
- Bakery On Main, Gluten Free Instant Oatmeal Traditional
- Bakery On Main Instant Oatmeal, Maple Flavor
- Bakery On Main Instant Oatmeal, Strawberry Flavor
Simpli ensures against cross-contamination of their gluten free products from seed to store. They also offer products that contain gluten, so make sure the label specifically states that it is gluten free.
Eco-Heaven LLC uses a dedicated gluten free facility certified by the Gluten Free Certification Organization. They also offer products containing gluten, so make sure to check the label.