Eggs

Are eggs gluten free?

Eggs are gluten free.
Are eggs gluten free?

Photo by bgottsab

Eggs themselves are gluten free. If they are prepared in a gluten free area, they are completely fine. They are, however, open to cross-contamination, especially when prepared alongside other food which contain gluten, like pancakes or French toast. If you order them from a restaurant, be sure to ask about shared cooking spaces, pans, and utensils.

What about grain fed chickens?

Some people who are extremely sensitive to gluten report being affected by eating eggs laid by grain-fed chickens. As with milk, if you find this to be the case for you, make sure the producing animals are not fed gluten grains or avoid eggs entirely. It’s also very common to be allergic to eggs themselves, which might produce similar effects to gluten intolerance.

Did you find this information useful?

Subscribe to receive free updates via email.

Pin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on TumblrTweet about this on TwitterDigg thisShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

Information contained on this website should not be construed as as medical advice. This site is designed to be of assistance in planning diets for people like me, who suffer from gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. You should always seek help from a medical professional to determine your level of gluten sensitivity and what steps you need to take to keep yourself healthy.

The Gluten Free Food List is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Connect with me!